Food: The Plaza Hotel Afternoon Tea, New York

DSCN1054

The Plaza Hotel is a New York icon. Featured in countless television shows and movies, such as Sex and the City, Bride Wars, Sleepless in Seattle, and Home Alone 2, it was my dream to visit the place where “nothing unimportant ever happens”.

DSCN1129

With my heart set on ordering a dessert buffet and spending the night in my 5-star suite a la Kevin McCallister, I began looking up prices as part of my trip to New York. I breathed a sigh of disappointment though when I saw that the cheapest suite was $595 – I would never be able to afford that.

A moment later, a light bulb went off in my head – I could book in for afternoon tea instead!

DSCN1162

And so a few weeks later, the four of us (my sister, her fiance, my fiance and myself) sat down graciously in the Palm Court to ‘The New Yorker’ afternoon tea – a selection of savouries, sandwiches, scones and sweets priced at $65 per person.

20140114_140943

We hadn’t had lunch, so were very pleased when the attentive waiter immediately offered us loose leaf tea (this little detail won me over instantly  – I hate it when you’re offered teabag tea), then brought out the 3-tiered stands moments later.

20140114_141435

We ate our way through the delicate savouries, smothered our freshly baked scones in lemon curd, preserves and cream and sipped on our perfectly brewed tea (of which I chose the Big Ben English Breakfast, with milk and one) . By this stage, my stomach was screaming at me, but I couldn’t give up on sweets…

20140114_141130

20140114_143211

I downed the lemon meringue and chocolate pasty before realising I actually couldn’t fit anything else in! At least I would only need a small dinner that night…

20140114_143542

We paid for our afternoon tea, before taking a wander around the Plaza Hotel to begin the long and treacherous journey of burning off our overindulgence. I found the hotel’s boutique and purchased a gorgeous tin depicting the famous building during the four seasons of the year. To this day, it sits on the top of my bookshelf as a reminder of the amazing time I had here.

Have you been lucky enough to stay in the Plaza Hotel? Post your experiences below!

Details:
The Plaza Hotel
768 5th Avenue, New York
Afternoon tea is available daily from 12pm-5pm.
Business casual dress code is required.
Book via OpenTable.

2 thoughts on “Food: The Plaza Hotel Afternoon Tea, New York

Leave a Reply

