Food: Cafe Komodo, Adelaide, South Australia

Cafe Komodo

Recently I met my parents for lunch on Prospect Road. We went for a walk to find somewhere to eat when I spotted a sign that pointed left.

CK

Feeling a bit like an Alice in some kind of wonderland, I led my parents down a narrow garden path. At the bottom sat an old garage containing a 60s retro cafe. With music from yesteryear playing in the background, my parents were in heaven. There was no way we were leaving the little gem we had discovered!

CK2

We were greeted with a warm ‘hello’ from a man making coffee, and then a waitress brought us some menus. There was basically two options – the all-day brunch or the salad/burger menu. There were also some specials written on a couple of old hanging doors. Dad walked up to the counter (which was covered in wallpaper from the 1960s) and placed our order.

CK3

With only three other tables to serve, our meals arrived very quickly indeed. As I wasn’t overly hungry, I had scones with jam and cream ($5.50) and a ‘very berry’ smoothie ($6.50). I am pleased to say my scones were warm and fresh, and my smoothie was cold and, well, berrylicious!

CK4

Mum had the roast vegetable salad ($16), stating that it was ‘divine’. I definitely agreed, as I tried her selection. The fetta cheese was a stand-out – very smooth and not too strong. Dad, on the other hand, had what he described as a ‘tasty’ burger (approximately $18 – I can’t quite remember, sorry). Each meal was served on a vintage plate with retro cutlery, making this nostalgic experience complete!

CK5

CK6

Cafe Komodo also host live music on Friday nights, with most acts performing funk, soul or jazz tunes.

CK7

Overall, Cafe Komodo is a stand-out for its decor alone. The food is also good with vegetarian and gluten-free options readily available.

Now over to you, fine readers! Do you know of any retro or other unique dining experiences?

Details:
118 Prospect Road,
Prospect, Adelaide, South Australia
Ph: 8344 7448

Leave a Reply

