Travel: My Favourite New York City Quotes

DSCN1177

So I’m sitting here on a chilly Sunday night watching a Sex and the City marathon and am thinking back to the week I spent in New York recently (lots of posts to come, yay).

DSCN1284

Ever since I was a little girl, New York has been my favourite city. Because my parents weren’t filthy rich, I had always only visited New York through the pages of literature and imagined myself strolling through Central Park or taking afternoon tea at the Plaza Hotel.

DSCN1115

The week I spent in this concrete jungle wasn’t nearly enough and I am itching to go back. In the meantime, here are some of my favourite quotes about New York…

“If London is a watercolour, New York is an oil painting.” – Peter Shaffer

“One belongs to New York instantly, one belongs to it as much in five minutes as in five years.” – Tom Wolfe

“Make your mark in New York and you are a made man.” – Mark Twain

“There is something in the New York air that makes sleep useless.”- Simone Beauvoir

“A hundred times have I thought New York is a catastrophe, and fifty times: It is a beautiful catastrophe.” – Le Corbusier

DSCN1181

“I get out of the taxi and it’s probably the only city which in reality looks better than on the postcards, New York.” – Milos Forman

“A bad day in New York is still better than a good day anywhere else.” – Anonymous

“Once you have lived in New York and made it your home, no place else is good enough” – John Steinbeck

“You haven’t lived until you died in New York” – Alexander Woollcott

“Each man reads his own meaning into New York.” – Meyer Berger

“New York is the only real city-city.” – Truman Capote

Do you have any favourite quotes about New York? Please share them below!

 

 

Leave a Reply

